Four Week Upgrade Challenge: Mind & Soul

I’ve decided to put the mind and soul explanation together because in general these goals are a lot less complex from the body section. When it comes to upgrading my mind I have two ways I’d like to expand my knowledge. I want to do a better job of keeping up with global news, and no I’m not talking about becoming a member of the Royal Baby Watch journalism team. My goals are to educate myself more on current affairs and to challenge my beliefs by reading books or watching documentaries which push the status quo.

Upgrade Mind Challenge – this section involves three different categories which relate to mind: Current Affairs, Books & Documentaries
Week 1: Read 1-2 news articles on any topics relating to current affairs, watch 1-2 documentaries relating to a new topic or one I have less knowledge about.
Week 2: Read 2-3 news articles on any topics relating to current affairs, watch 2-3 documentaries relating to a new topic or one I have less knowledge about.
Week 3: Read 3-4 news articles on any topics relating to current affairs, watch 3-4 documentaries relating to a new topic or one I have less knowledge about.
Week 4: Read 4-5 news articles on any topics relating to current affairs, watch 4-5 documentaries relating to a new topic or one I have less knowledge about.

I think journaling and giving of your time or things are really good for your soul. In this part of the challenge I want to take the time to tell people how important they are to me and find ways to try to give to others because I know I am so richly blessed. I was inspired to be intentional about donating things when reading the book 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker.
Upgrade Soul Challenge – this section involves two different categories which relate to soul: doing for self and doing for others
Week 1: Journal for 3-4 days, write 1-2 thank you notes, go through my cabinets for items to donate.
Week 2: Journal for 4-5 days, write 2-3 thank you notes, go through my closet for items to donate.
Week 3: Journal 5-6 days, write 3-4 thank you notes, find an event to volunteer for and go through my drawers and bookshelf for items to donate.
Week 4: Journal 6-7 days, write 4-5 thank you notes, find an event to volunteer for and go through storage for items to donate.
Have you ever taken on the challenge to write thank you notes or volunteer more? Any tips for how I should go about finding a need in my community? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

