Cheezy & Creamy Avocado Sauce with Veggie Noodles

I love a good pasta, I mean who doesn’t right?! I love every type of noodle: fettucine, angel hair, macaroni, gnocchi and every type of sauce: marinara, alfredo, pesto to name just a few. In my quest to alkalize my diet I had to find a place for pasta and sauce, or at least a delicious and satisfying alternative. Months ago a friend shared a recipe with me from Hungry Girl which uses avocados in an alfredo sauce recipe. The avocados offer a creaminess to the alfredo sauce along with healthy fats and nutrients. Using avocados as my base I’ve created a delicious, raw sauce which tastes divine especially served with veggie noodles. The sauce is incredibly easy to make which makes this entire recipe a breeze to whip up in a pinch. The basic sauce includes avocado, almond milk, raw cashews, nutritional yeast (although not a raw ingredient it adds an extra cheesiness) garlic, salt, and pepper. DSC04120DSC04122

Turn on the blender and voila – sauce is ready to pour!

The blender will actually warm up the sauce a bit, but for those not too focused on a raw sauce can nuke it in the microwave for 15 seconds or in a saucepan at a very low heat. Pour the sauce over broccoli slaw & julienned carrots and stir.

DSC04125DSC04126

Cheezy & Creamy Avocado Sauce

1/2 avocado

1/4 – 1/2 c. almond milk (unsweetened)

1 – 2 T nutritional yeast (more if you’d like to add some cheesiness)

1/8 c raw cashews

1 T minced garlic (I LOVE garlic so feel free to use less if you aren’t as in love with it as me)

1 tsp sea salt

1 tsp pepper

Blend the ingredients – add more cashews if you’d like to thicken it or add almond milk to thin the sauce to your desired consistency. ENJOY! DSC04118

Do you have a favorite pasta sauce or recipe? If you do I’d love for you to share it with me!

Leave a Reply

