Creamy, Green, Alkalizing Smoothie

I have my boyfriend to thank for the obsession of craving a smoothie everyday. He introduced me to the power of the magic bullet and taught me the tricks of the trade including the ability to mask spinach in a berry banana smoothie. I’ve slowly begun to upgrade his original recipe to include more and more greens, in an attempt to create a highly alkalizing smoothie.

DSC04127DSC04129

This is a delicious and filling mid-morning snack and gives me a chance to load up on vitamins and minerals in one fell swoop. This powerhouse smoothie gives me a lot of energy and keeps me full on those days when I need to have a late or lite lunch. Here’s the recipe for my favorite green smoothie adapted from Kris Carr’s Green Guru Smoothie. I love the Amazing Grass Green SuperFoods Berry Powder and I add a scoop in my recipe. It has wonderful greens such as spirulina, wheatgrass, alfalfa, and organic chlorella (which benefits were shown on Dr. Oz). Not to mention it has a lot of antioxidant ingredients like goji berries and maca.

DSC04132

Creamy, Green, Alkalizing Smoothie

1 banana

1 grapefruit

1/2 avocado

1 kiwi

1 bunch of kale

2 – 3 handfuls of mixed greens (I usually have romaine and spinach in my blend)

1 -2 cups unsweetened coconut milk

1 – 2 cups filtered water

1 scoop Amazing Grass Green SuperFood Berry Powder (I love all the nutritious benefits of this powder and the added flavor is a particularly great bonus)

This recipe makes 2 large servings, it will keep for a day or two in the fridge so you can have one serving the day you make it and the final serving the next day!

DSC04134

Observe the creamy green smoothie!

I adjust my liquids based on my desired smoothie thickness. What about you? Do you have a smoothie recipe you are in love with and would prefer not to go without? I’d love for you to share your recipes or experiments with me!

Leave a Reply

