My attempt to find my glow

“Let your food be your medicine, and your medicine be your food” – Hippocrates
I am a dabbler in all things new. I’ve always loved the idea of uniqueness being a way to identify who I am. I love my unique name, unique personality and will willfully choose opposite of others when ordering at a restaurant just so I have a unique dish. Yep, I’ll go that far. My drive for individuality usually has meant I will try anything and love constant change, which is pretty much true. So as I research and learn about new things especially when it comes to healthy living I’m always game for a new experiment and experience. Which brings me to my newest adventure: juicing.

Getting the glow with a spinach, kale, celery, cucumber, pear, grapefruit, ginger juice

Getting the glow with a spinach, kale, celery, cucumber, pear, grapefruit, ginger juice

I can’t really name a specific moment when I started thinking about adding juicing to my diet. I had been reading quite a few different health books and cookbooks which were focused on eating raw and a vegan diet. I’m a huge fan of the local library in Oklahoma City. The variety of health books has fascinated me and it led me to coming across the book by Kris Carr, “Crazy Sexy Diet”. I’m still exploring the book and her alkalizing ways, but have explored her recipes included in the book, specifically: Make Juice Not War Green Drink. The science behind an alkalizing diet and the desire I had to give have a good cleanse led me to start with something simple like having a green juice every morning.

My dear sweet friend had a juicer she wasn’t using at the moment and so I thought the best way to venture down this path (and most economical) was to borrow the appliance and see if I would use it before I made the investment. I found out that the juices would only last a few days in the fridge, but would maintain a majority of their health benefits and add some convenience to my routine if I froze them. I decided to make a month’s worth of daily green juices in one day. The grocery bill was quite a bit higher that week as I bought all of my supplies, but I reminded myself it was for an entire month’s of sweet life giving nectar and it made it easier to handle. Not to mention I wouldn’t be purchasing my normal breakfast ingredients since the juice was to be my breakfast instead, all in all the price point was not too much of a factor in this adventure.

Day of juicing  I had a large pitcher to mix my juices in as I went through the veggies and fruits and had a large amount of tubberware to hold the frozen juice. I basically followed the Make Juice Not War recipe which is linked earlier in the blog. I did add a little bit of my own ingredients because I had a few grapefruits around and decided to throw them in along with fresh ginger. Overall the juice was delicious and there was enough of a variety between all my juicing that they didn’t taste exactly the same.

After a month of daily juices I am completely hooked and have been able to successfully pull off two more days of weekly juicing since then. Juicing day is a sticky day and kind of time consuming, but all in all I really think it is worth it and can feel the glow. I had a big trip I was trying to get ready for so I did a few days of juicing for two meals of the day with a raw dinner and my loving boyfriend who I hadn’t seen in three months couldn’t stop complimenting me how good I looked when we were finally reunited. It was kind of a “je ne sais quoi” moment which literally is French for, “I don’t know what”. He was pretty much saying I don’t know what has changed about you, but I can see an improvement. He knew I got the glow 🙂

I’m getting ready to have another juice cleanse next week as I’ve just returned from some amazing travels to London and Istanbul and my body could use a digestive vacay. I’ll post more about those travels soon!

What about you? Has anyone ever tried a juicing cleanse or read any books on the subject. I’d love to hear some more advice, opinions or insight on the subject. Not to mention please share any juicing recipes you have!

 

4 thoughts on “My attempt to find my glow

  1. Great job Jaimie. Congratulations on joining us juicers and on your blog! I want to try freezing the juice. That would be such an added convenience. I always drink it immediately after juicing.

Leave a Reply

